Sale on now: 30% off Advanced Project Planner until Oct 28 · 20% off CapGate Pro until Oct 18.

Shop the Sale

Plaud Note Pro vs NotePin S vs soundcore Work: Which AI Voice Recorder Fits How You Work?

By Pankaj Nalavade · October 6, 2026 · 6 min read

Eyeglasses, a smartwatch, a tablet and a stylus on a desk

An AI voice recorder solves one specific problem: you leave a meeting with a vague memory of who agreed to what, and the notes you took while talking are half a sentence each. These devices record the conversation, send it to an app for transcription, and return a summary with decisions and action items.

The three most-reviewed options sold in Canada right now are the Plaud Note Pro, the Plaud NotePin S and Anker’s soundcore Work. They all do the same basic job, so the choice comes down to how you carry it, how long it runs, and where it records best. This guide compares them on the manufacturers’ own specifications, checked on October 5, 2026.

The three recorders side by side

Plaud Note Pro Plaud NotePin S soundcore Work
Form Credit-card size, 2.99 mm thin, 30 g, with a small 0.95-inch screen Wearable pin, 17.4 g Coin-sized wearable
How you carry it Magnetic case on the back of a phone, or on a table Necklace, wristband, clip or magnetic pin (all in the box) Pin, necklace or phone attachment
Recording time Up to 50 h (Endurance mode) or 30 h (Enhance mode) Up to 20 h continuous 8 h per charge, 32 h with the charging case
Microphones 4 MEMS mics plus a voice pickup sensor, up to 5 m range Not specified on the product page Dual mics, 5 m radius
Phone calls Switches between in-person and phone-call recording automatically Not stated Not stated
Storage 64 GB 64 GB 8 GB or 64 GB
Languages 112 112 150+
Free transcription 300 min/month 300 min/month 300 min/month
Security claims (maker’s own) ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, EN 18031 Same as Note Pro AES-256 encryption, SOC 2 Type I, EN 18031
Warranty / returns 1 year / 30 days (Plaud Canada store) 1 year / 30 days (Plaud Canada store) 30-day money-back (soundcore store)

Battery figures are the manufacturers’ maximums. Real recording time depends on the mode you use and how often you sync to the app.

Plaud Note Pro: the meeting-room option

The Note Pro is built for people who record long, structured conversations: project reviews, interviews, client workshops. Four microphones and a 5-metre pickup range suit a table of people rather than one speaker. The small screen shows recording status, so you can see at a glance that it is actually capturing, which matters more than it sounds when the meeting is the one you can’t repeat.

It also handles phone calls, switching modes on its own when you hold it against the phone. During a recording you can press to highlight a moment, which marks it in the transcript. For a project manager, that is how you flag “this is the decision” while the conversation keeps moving.

Choose it if most of your recordings are seated meetings or calls and you want the longest battery of the three. Skip it if you want something you can wear and forget.

Check current price on Amazon.caPlaud Note Pro

Plaud NotePin S: hands-free capture

The NotePin S runs on the same Plaud app and the same transcription plans as the Note Pro, in a 17.4 g pin you wear on a lanyard, wrist strap, clip or magnet. Recording starts with one press of a physical button. Plaud positions it for capturing conversations as they happen, away from a desk: site walks, hallway decisions, in-person check-ins.

The trade-off is battery: 20 hours of continuous recording against the Note Pro’s 30 to 50, and Plaud does not list a phone-call mode for it.

Choose it if your important conversations happen on your feet. Skip it if you mostly record calls.

Check current price on Amazon.caPlaud NotePin S

soundcore Work: the alternative brand

Anker’s soundcore Work is a coin-sized wearable that clips on as a pin or necklace, or attaches to your phone. It lists support for over 150 languages, the widest of the three, and includes a double-tap gesture to mark key moments. Battery is the shortest per charge at 8 hours, but the charging case extends it to 32.

It is the one to look at if you want a second brand in the running rather than two Plaud devices, or if you already use Anker products. Its subscription plans are priced differently from Plaud’s; see our guide to AI recorder costs.

Check current price on Amazon.casoundcore Work by Anker

How to choose: four questions

  1. Where do your important conversations happen? At a table or on calls: Note Pro. Walking around: NotePin S or soundcore Work.
  2. How many hours a week do you record? All three include 300 free transcription minutes a month, about 70 minutes a week. Above that you pay for a plan, and the plan costs more over two years than the device. Do this math before you buy.
  3. Do you need phone calls? Only the Note Pro lists an automatic phone-call mode.
  4. Where will the audio go? All three transcribe in the cloud through their app. If you record client or employee conversations, check your organization’s rules first, and read our plain-English guide to recording meetings in Canada.

Which one should a project manager buy?

If your week is mostly meetings and calls, the Note Pro is the practical default: the longest battery of the three, a room-scale microphone array, an automatic phone-call mode and a highlight button for marking decisions. The small screen prevents a big problem: a meeting you thought you recorded but didn’t.

If you run site visits, walk-throughs or workshops where you move around, the NotePin S keeps your hands free and uses the same Plaud app and plans, so you could add one later without changing how you work. Pick soundcore Work if you want a second brand to compare against, already use Anker products, or want the widest language list.

Whichever you choose, the recorder is the easy part. The value comes from what you do with the summary afterwards; our meeting-to-action-list workflow covers that step.

Common questions

Do I need a subscription?

No. All three include 300 free transcription minutes a month. You only pay if you transcribe more than that. The cost guide shows where the free plan stops being enough.

Where is the audio stored?

Recordings are saved on the device first (64 GB on the Plaud models, 8 or 64 GB on soundcore Work), then synced to the phone app. Transcripts and summaries are produced in each company’s cloud service, so the audio leaves your device when you transcribe it.

Will it work in French or other languages?

Plaud lists 112 languages and soundcore lists more than 150, including French. Check the app’s language list for your exact language before relying on it for important meetings.

Are the security certifications a guarantee?

No. Certifications such as SOC 2 or ISO 27001 show a company has audited controls in place; they don’t decide whether your employer or client allows you to send meeting audio to an outside service. Ask first.

How we researched this

This is a desk comparison, not a hands-on review. Specifications come from the manufacturers’ product pages (Plaud Canada and soundcore), checked on October 5, 2026. Security certifications are the manufacturers’ own claims; we have not audited them. We confirmed each product was listed on Amazon.ca the same day.

Sources: Plaud Note Pro (Plaud Canada) · Plaud NotePin S (Plaud Canada) · soundcore Work (soundcore)